31.05.2013 | Convocate-D

NIFT is a pretty unpredictable place to be and I have learnt it the hard way over the past few years. Though I have pretty much accepted that fact but this time they astonished me completely. See, as a part of our curriculum we have to finish our 22 weeks long Graduation Project by the end of May, followed by the juries and the graduation show. Then sometime in August we get our degrees. So it is a long process with loads of preparations to be taken care of. Now imagine, if all of this needs to be done in a weeks time! That’s what happened with my batch.

We had our external juries on our head, prototyping still in progress, documents to be compiled, printed etc. Now to add onto this, our graduation show was planned just 2 days post our final jury. We had to design the theme, logo, brochures, hoardings, invites, etc. get all of that printed and put in place. But this was not enough for NIFT. They had to plan our convocation on the very next day. Yes, the very next day! So we had to prepare our attire, invites, etc. for the same.

Well, some say that it was a good thing that happened. We won’t have to wait till the end of the year for our degrees. But I beg to differ. All these events were important to me as a student. I wanted to grasp them all but thanks to NIFT; it all went by in a blink of an eye. In a week’s time, I was a graduate. It all happened too fast. I genuinely wish I had more time.

But nevertheless, convocation was amazing. Mrs. Ritu Kumar, the chief guest gave an insightful speech on the future of design in India. Mr. Sunil Sethi was the guest of honor who made us take the final oath. That was a magical moment. I literally had goose bumps. And then we all threw our capes in the air followed by the wild cheering by the graduating batch of 2013. Now that’s a moment I’ll cherish for a lifetime.

1 new

So, it’s done now. The flags have been hoisted and the oaths been taken. And officially, I am a graduate with a design degree in hand. It feels wonderful. Finally, all the sleepless nights of hard work have paid off with a GPA of 9.0. Oh, that reminds me, I forgot to mention before, our final semester results came out 15 days after we received our degrees. Now what do you call that? Haha.

Cheers to NIFT!

~S

Leave a comment