Locked Away

Locked_Away

While I was burning in the fire I started
He entered my life and quietly guarded
He healed my wounds with the scars left over
He won my heart while playing poker
He made me laugh, made me smile
He was the reason for the sparkle in my eye.

Now and then we had our ups and downs
Old scars clouded my vision with doubts
Time and again he proved me wrong
Gave me love without a second thought.
He took my sorrows far-far away
And promised me he was there to stay.

In his warm embrace I felt at home
My heart melted and was no more a stone.
He gained my trust and made me believe
I was his life and he would never leave.
He made me stand again, so tall
And promised he’ll never let me fall.

But who knew all this was a game
Life is such; there is no one to blame.
For once when I had started to see the future so clear
I faced the fire again as my world was unreal.
The house that I was building was built on sand
A gust of wind blew it to a far away land.

So once again, I lay here, awake
Cant sleep, can’t eat, this time all’s at stake.
Love is a gamble and I was meant to lose
It was fire and I stood too close.
So, my heart is broken as it was so brittle
For all the charges, you were not acquittal

For a while, I was living a lie
It made me happy but now its time to say goodbye
Hence I promise, to lock away
The broken pieces, for no one to play
No promises, no trust as it never lasts
It’s all buried now, it was just past.

~S

Leave a comment